MAPS was founded in Malaysia on 16 January 2001 by Dato' Lawrence Chan, CSP, who is a professional member of NSA, USA since 1983. He received support and blessings from Cavett Robert, founder of NSA, John Hammond, Somers White and Naomi Rhode to form an association of professional speakers in Malaysia. He wanted to form a national association whereby to promote and upgrade professionalism in the speaking business for those in various professions.


A platform where members can improve the speaking skills, exchange ideas, share experiences, build their professional speaking business and network with the peers locally and internationally. He felt that public speaking in Malaysia faced numerous challenges to be recognized as a profession. MAPS members make their living, entirely or partially, from professional speaking as trainers, facilitators, coaches, consultants, facilitators, authors, adult educators, motivators and keynoters.


MAPS strives to help its members grow their speaking business by developing eight professional competencies which are enhanced through marketing & promotion, collaboration with learning partnerships, connection to international linkages and advancement of speaking professionals through participation in the Global Speakers Federation (GSF). MAPS has been a member of GSF since 2006 where its members have had the opportunity to participate in the GSF events such as the Global Speakers Summit.


MAPS has been spearheaded by various significant Executive Committee (ExCo) members who had served MAPS to make it a better association today.


Key positions held in the history of MAPS include :-


2001-2002 : Founder President & Advisor: Dato' Lawrence Chan Kum Peng, CSP


2002-2003 : President: Dr Yew K K


2003-2005 : President: Mr. PM Low


2005-2007 : President: Dato' Dr Sheikh Omar


2007-2009 : P1: Yogathevan | P2: Datuk Maznah Hamid | P3: Ng Thian Watt


MAPS experienced 3 presidents in one term as President1 and President2 had to step down during their presidencies due to unforeseen circumstances;


2009-2011 : President: Mr Jonathan Low, CSP


2011-2013 : President : Mr. Raymond Phoon


2013-2015 : President : Mr.Jegatheeswaran Manoharan


2015-2017 : President : Mr. Johann Paul Gregory